Got questions on how to use Google Workspace? Here’s some FAQs to help you get more familiar with Google Workspace.

Why is there a free version and paid version of Google Workspace? What is the difference? What is Vault? Will the relocation process shut down or interrupt operations? Will there be a flood of problems after just having introduced the system?

No need to worry. Microfusion knows that enterprise customers have many doubts when migrating to new IT systems. That is why we carefully sort out frequently asked questions, or FAQs. In addition to Google Workspace, our FAQs cover other important topics, such as Google Meet Hardware and Google Workspace for Education, to help you articulate and solve your problems.

Multiple, flexible solutions from Google Workspace – Before purchase

What is the difference between Google Workspace’s Gmail and the free version of Gmail?

Exclusive domain names for enterprise: The enterprise version of Google Workspace provides an exclusive corporate domain inbox name, for example: “@microfusion.cloud” gives customers a professional first impression, even in the email address.

Google Admin backend management function: The powerful administrator backend allows the admin to control the enterprise information system with ease, including the use of email and storage space. Apart from ease, it can also be simple and clear, secure, and it can facilitate the management of accounts and data of former employees.

Cloud storage upgrades: Google provides 15GB of free space for general Gmail accounts. After upgrading to the enterprise-level Google Workspace account, storage varies from a minimum of 30GB with no upper limit, depending on the plan that you choose (*unlimited storage is only applicable to specific Google Workspace editions and with minimum purchase limit).

What is the difference between the free and paid versions of Google Meet?

Free version: Provides a video conference limit of 100 participants and a maximum of 1 hour.
Paid versions: Each plan has different restrictions. Video conferences can reach a maximum of 250 participants and 24 hours; and it also allows up to 100K-instance live broadcasts in the domain. (See the introduction to Google Workspace solutions for details)

What is Vault?

Vault is a tool of Google Workspace for information management and ediscovery, which allows you to perform retention, search, export, and set legal retention for users’ Google Workspace data.
Vault is suitable for the following data:
Gmail
Drive files
Google Chat messages (the recording function must be turned on)
Google Meet records the content and respective instant messaging, Q&A, and opinion surveys
Google Web Forum Messages

What are the benefits of working with a reseller?

When the admin password is lost, we provide you with urgent rescue assistance, and the distributor’s engineers can immediately handle company mail system emergencies for you. Compared with Google’s original manufacturer support plan (with its complicated processes and procedures), Microfusion can solve your problems without undue delay (the level of technical support provided depends on the plan).

Google Workspace – During purchase

From data import and configurations, how long does it take to begin using Google Workspace?

That depends on the time of domain verification and MX settings. If your enterprise’s domain verification has been completed and no additional settings are required, importing can be completed within as little as 1 day. Since domain verification takes effect only after the decision of the hosting company, processing can be completed in a minimum of 30 minutes, though it could take as long as 48-72 hours.

When importing Google Workspace, will there be any downtime that affects normal operations?

No. In the preparation period, our team will design an appropriate operation process to avoid downtime. Beyond that, Microfusion’s professional architect team will also complete MX settings and transfer new mail to the Gmail server to avoid dropping messages. Furthermore, Google’s email send/receive services belong to different servers, so mail can still be received normally during relocation.

Will folders be synchronized during relocation?

Folders that have been set in Outlook in the past can be completely migrated through Google data migration from PST file, together with folder settings.

How long does it take to migrate email?

That depends on the number of accounts at your company and the total email volume. The larger those numbers, the more time it will take. In addition, network bandwidth will also affect the speed of the migration. Microfusion’s project team can draft a clear work schedule for you.

When is the appropriate time to migrate?

It is more appropriate to migrate mail after MX settings have been completed. Once settings are finished, it will not affect the sending/receiving status.

What are the ways to migrate data?

Google internally provides GSMMO/GSMME to assist in migrating from Outlook, Exchange, and other mail systems, to Google Workspace; or you can zip the file content into a PST file and upload it manually; Migration can also be carried out through third-party tools at additional cost.

How do we deal with the mail of former employees?

There are many ways to migrate mail, and Microfusion’s senior architects can provide the solution best adapted to your company’s environment.

Can the super administrator assign permissions from the backend?

Yes. Super administrators can assign permissions, add/delete users, and manage account security settings through Google Admin backend operations.

Google Workspace for Education – Before purchase

What editions are available in Google Workspace for Education? How should I choose among them?

Google Workspace for Education provides four plans for your organization’s choice:
Fundamentals: Provides basic communication and collaboration tools for school institutions and provides a series of teaching aids, such as: Classroom, Google Meet, Google Docs, and Google Forms.
Standard: While having all the tools that Fundamentals has, the Standard solution also provides advanced security functions and complete management control items, such as: Privacy & Security Center reports, Context-Aware Access, and other control items.
Teaching and Learning Upgrade: With Fundamentals at its base, this solution provides more powerful video communication services, such as: Using breakout rooms in Google Meet to track student attendance and other functions.
Google Workspace for Education Plus: Provides a full range of solutions for educational institutions.

Are there differences in permissions between faculty and students?

Standard: Students and faculty members are given separate permissions, but use the same functions.
Teaching and Learning Upgrade: Account permissions for teachers and students are the same.
Google Workspace for Education Plus: Students and faculty members are separately given permissions. Only users authorized by faculty members can broadcast video conferences. Other functions are the same for students and faculty members.

Is there a free trial for Google Workspace for Education?

Yes. Google Workspace for Education provides paid plans (Teaching and Learning Upgrade, Standard, and Education Plus) that provide a maximum of 50 licenses for new domain education users and a 60-day free trial period. This does not include Fundamentals, which is a completely free plan. Microfusion is a Google for Education Premier Partner and can help you apply for trial account and perform data migration services!

Which versions provide advanced remote video teaching, such as breakout rooms, attendance tracking, etc.?

If you want to use the advanced features in Google Meet, such as “polls, breakout rooms, attendance tracking, noise cancellation” and other functions, you can choose a plan that fits your school or institution: Teaching and Learning Upgrade or Education Plus.

Are there any differences in storage among the different versions of Google Workspace for Education?

All Education versions provide 100 TB of storage for common use by the school. Each Teaching and Learning Upgrade license provides an additional 100GB storage space. Each Education Plus license provides an additional 20GB storage space.

Google Workspace for Education – During purchase

How do I qualify for Google Workspace Education Edition?

An applicant to Google Workspace for Education must be a kindergarten, elementary school, national high school, or institution of higher education that is a formally-accredited which can bestow nationally or internationally-approved certifications at the primary, secondary, or tertiary level.

How long does it take to complete qualifications for Google Workspace for Education?

After you apply and verify the domain, Google will review your institution’s eligibility. The approval process can usually be completed within 14 working days.

What information is needed to complete a review for Google Workspace for Education?

A scanned copy of the official accreditation document stating the educational status of the institution.
Your name, contact email (not related to the Google Workspace account), and job title, position, or relationship with your educational institution.
The official website of your educational institution.

How long does it take to import Google Workspace for Education?

After the distributor assists your institution in submitting an application, your institution will receive an email from the Google Education team confirming the review document submission. You must reply to the letter within 24 hours for Google to begin the review. Approval and initialization can usually be completed within 14 working days.

How many paid licenses should I purchase?

Teaching and Learning Upgrade: There is no minimum purchase.
Standard and Education Plus: The minimum number is 50 licenses; the number of purchases must be calculated based on the number of full-time students enrolled at your institution. For instance, if your school has 1,000 full-time students, you must purchase at least 1,000 licenses. For every 4 student licenses purchased, 1 faculty and staff license is provided for free. Additional licenses can be purchased for other users who may need an account (such as alumni).

Google Meet Hardware

What is the difference between buying Google Meet Hardware on the Internet and buying it from Microfusion?

What Microfusion provides is internal ChromeOS functionality for customers’ Google Meet Hardware equipment, making it easier for customers to get started when they connect by themselves.

Do we need to purchase additional licenses for Google Meet Hardware?

At least one enterprise Google Workspace account and GMH license are required, and each piece of hardware comes with a license.

常見問題指引
排解你的數位轉型疑難雜症

Google Workspace 為什麼會有免費版和付費版的差別?保管箱是什麼?搬遷過程會停機導致營運中斷嗎?剛導入系統的您是否也有著諸多問題呢?

別擔心,宏庭深知企業在導入新系統時會有許多疑惑,貼心整理常見問題Q&A,除了 Google Workspace,還有Google Meet HardwareGoogle Workspace for Education等主題,為您排解疑難雜症。

Google Workspace 方案-購買前

Google Workspace 的 Gmail 與免費版 Gmail 的差異是什麼?

• 企業用專屬域名:企業版 Google Workspace 能夠擁有專屬的企業網域名信箱名稱,例如:@microfusion.cloud ,透過電子郵件能帶給客戶專業的第一印象。

• Google Admin後台管理功能:強大的管理者後台可以讓管理員輕鬆控管企業資訊系統,包含郵件、儲存空間的運用,都能簡單清楚、確保安全性,並方便管理離職員工帳號及資料。

• 雲端儲存空間升級:Google 僅提供一般 Gmail 帳號 15GB 免費使用空間,升級至企業用 Google Workspace 帳號後,使用空間依方案從最低 30GB 至無上限(*適用使用空間無上限方案,有最低授權購買限制)。

• 閱讀完整文章:https://bit.ly/3Bo65iF

Google Meet 免費版及付費版的差異是什麼?

• 免費版:擁有視訊會議上限 100 人及會議時數上限 1 小時的限制。

• 付費版:依不同方案享有不同限制,最高方案視訊會議人數可達 250人、會議小時上限 24 小時,更可以開啟網域內直播 100K 人次。(詳見Google Workspace 方案介紹)

什麼是保管箱?

保管箱是 Google Workspace 的資訊管理與電子蒐證 (ediscovery) 工具,可讓您對使用者的 Google Workspace 資料執行保留、搜尋、匯出及設定訴訟保留。

保管箱適用於下列資料:

• Gmail 郵件
• 雲端硬碟檔案
• Google Chat 訊息 (須開啟記錄功能)
• Google Meet 錄製內容及相關即時通訊、問與答和意見調查記錄
• Google 網路論壇訊息

和經銷商合作的好處是什麼?

遺失管理員密碼時我們將為您進行絕地救援,經銷商的工程師可即時為您處理公司郵件系統的突發狀況。比起 Google 原廠的支援方案(流程、手續繁複),宏庭能更及時排解您的問題 (技術支援等級視方案而定)。

Google Workspace 方案-購買中

從導入 Google Workspace 到設定完成需要多久?

需要視網域驗證與 MX 設定的時間而定,若貴公司網域驗證已完成,且無須做額外設定,最快則可在 1 天內完成導入。由於網域驗證是由代管商決定生效的時間,處理最短 30 分鐘就可以完成、長則可能需要 48-72 小時。

導入 Google Workspace 過程會不會有停機時間 Downtime 影響正常作業?

不會,在前置作業中我們的團隊會設定合適的作業流程,避免這項問題。且宏庭專業架構師團隊會先完成 MX 設定,將新的信件將會轉到 Gmail 的伺服器,避免漏掉信件。再者,Google 的收信與寄信服務分屬不同的伺服器,在搬遷的同時還是可以正常收信。

搬遷過程中,資料夾是否會被同步上去?

過去在 Outlook 已經設定的資料夾,可以透過 Google 上傳工具 PST 檔,連同資料夾設定可以完整遷移。

信件搬遷需要多久的工作時間?

視貴公司帳號數量與總信件量而定,數量越多則需要越多的時間,同時網路頻寬也會影響搬遷的速度,可由宏庭專案團隊先為您預估明確的工作時程。

什麼時候搬遷較為恰當?

在 MX 設定完成之後再搬遷信件比較恰當,一但設定完成之後就不會影響收發信狀況。

資料搬遷的方式有哪些?

Google 內部提供 GSMMO/GSMME 等可以協助您從 Outlook、Exchange 等郵件系統搬遷到 Google Workspace;或者是您也可以將檔案內容打包成 PST 檔做手動上傳;也可透過額外付費的第三方工具進行搬遷。

員工離職的信件可以如何處理?

信件搬遷的方式有很多種,宏庭資深架構師可依貴公司的環境提供最佳解決方案。

超級管理員是否可以在後台指派授權?

可以,超級管理員可透過 Google Admin 後台操作指派授權、新增/刪除使用者,並管理帳號安全設定等等。

Google for Education 方案-購買前

Google Workspace教育版提供哪些版本?我該如何選擇?

• Fundamentals 教育基本版:提供學校機構基本的溝通和協作功能,可使用一系列的教學輔助工具,例如:Classroom、Google Meet、Google 文件、Google表單等。

• Standard 教育標準版:除了與 Education Fundamentals 相同的工具外,此方案提供進階安全性功能及完善的管理控制項,例如:安全性資訊主頁報告、情境感知存取權等控制項目。

• Teaching and Learning Upgrade 教學升級版:以 Education Fundamentals 為基礎,此方案提供更強大的視訊溝通服務,例如:使用 Google Meet 中的分組討論室、追蹤學生出席狀況等功能。

• Plus 教育旗艦版:提供教育機構全方位的解決方案。

教職員及學生的授權是否有不同?

• Eductaion Standard 教育標準版:學生及教職員分別提供授權,但使用相同功能。

• Teaching and Learning Upgarde 教學升級版:老師及學生的帳戶授權相同。

• Education Plus 教育旗艦版:學生及教職員分別提供授權,只有教職員授權的使用者可以直播視訊會議,除此之外的功能,學生及教職員皆相同。

Google Workspace 教育版是否可以試用?

可以,Google Workspace for Education 為付費方案(Teaching and Learning Upgrade、Education Standard、Education Plus)提供新網域教育用戶上限 50 個授權數、60 天的免費試用期,Fundamentals 為免費方案,不在此限。而宏庭科技為 Google for Education Premier Partner,可以為您申請試用與後續導入服務!

哪些版本提供進階的遠距教學視訊功能,例如分組討論室、追蹤出席狀況等?

如果想要使用 Google Meet 中的進階功能,如「意見調查、分組討論室、追蹤出席狀況、噪音消除」等功能,可以為學校機構選擇方案:Teaching and Learning Upgrade 或 Education Plus。

Google Workspace 教育版的儲存空間配額是否有不同?

所有 Education 版本皆提供學校 100 TB 的儲存空間,供全校共同使用。如果您選擇Teaching and Learning Upgrade 方案,則每份授權將有額外 100GB 儲存空間;若使用 Education Plus,則每份授權將有額外 20GB 儲存空間。

Google for Education方案-購買中

Google Workspace 教育版的申請資格為何?

如要符合 Google Workspace for Education 申請資格,必須是政府認可並獲得正式認證的幼兒園、小學、國高中,以及高等教育機構,可提供國內或國際認可的初級、中級或高級證書。

Google Workspace 教育版的資格核准程序需要多久才能完成?

在您提出申請及驗證網域之後,Google 會審查貴機構的資格,通常可以在 14 個工作天內結束核准程序。

Google Workspace 教育版的資格核准程序需要審核哪些資料?

• 載明機構教育狀態的正式認證文件掃描副本。

• 您的姓名、聯絡電子郵件 (與 Google Workspace 帳戶無關) 以及職稱、職務或與貴教育機構的關係。

• 貴教育機構的官方網站。

導入 Google Workspace 教育版需要多久時間?

經銷商協助貴機構提出申請後,貴機構將收到來自 Google Education 小組的審核文件遞交信件,您需要在 24 小時內回覆該信件,並交由 Google 審核,通常可以在 14 個工作天內結束核准程序並啟用。

我該購買多少付費授權?

• Teaching and Learning Upgrade:沒有購買最低數量限制。

• Education Standard 及 Education Plus:最低數量限制為 50 個授權,購買數量需依據貴機構全職學生的註冊人數計算。舉例來說,如果貴校有 1,000 位全職學生,您至少須購買 1,000 個授權,每購買 4 個學生授權,就能免費獲得 1 個教職員授權,也可以為其他可能需要帳戶的使用者 (例如校友) 額外購買授權。

Google Meet Hardware

自己在網路上買 Google Meet Hardware 設備,和跟宏庭購買有什麼區別?

宏庭會為客戶的 Google Meet Hardware 設備建立好內部的 ChromeOS 功能,使客戶在自行串接時更加容易上手。

Google Meet Hardware 需要額外購買授權嗎?

需具備至少一組企業版 Google Workspace 帳號及 GMH license,每台硬體搭配一張license。